Sunday, September 9th, 2007...8:53 am...by:
Stay Away from Quechup
Trying to get back into blog mode, I naturally checked out one of Garry’s blogs and saw his post on the Quechup Scam.
I then ran across a post on eWeek about Quechup’s viral marketing. It boils down to Quechup spoofing email origins - what a bunch of morons. Can you believe that a “social networking” site would resort to these spammy, anti-social tactics to increase members?
Here is what Quechup’s privacy policy page states:
Quechup.com Privacy Policy
This site is owned and operated by iDate Ltd. Your privacy on the Internet is of the utmost importance to us. At iDate, we want to make your experience online satisfying and safe.
Hmm…no so sure about that. I could not find anything in either the privacy policy or the terms of use stating that Quechup had permission to do what they apparently are doing. But one thing is for sure, if they want to succeed, they will have to change their marketing techniques.
Taking it a step further, with all of this negative publicty they are getting from the blogosphere, Quechup may already be doomed to failure because bloggers are not likely to forget this fiasco.
- How to Stay Safe Online? There are approximately 200,000 malicious programs in existence, with at...
- Mac OS X “Phones Home” Without Permission According to a Mac developer, Apple's Mac OS X has...
- Word of Mouth Marketing Here is a rant, sort of. With the recent revelations...
- Make 71 Million Dollars In a Weekend How would you like to do that? Well, that is...
- Google Privacy Google has captured a big market in the the search...
























1 Comment
September 9th, 2007 at 9:56 am
How rude. Quechup could have had a chance if they had done things differently. However, I am almost glad that they decided to show their true colors so early in the game.
Leave a Reply